“Letters” Challenge Reveal

Whenever I’m in a challenge, I spend a lot of time thinking about how to participate, have fun, and learn something new in the process. And trust me, there’s always something new to learn!

While Skyping with the Creative Conglomeration in New Hampshire, our latest challenge, “letters,” was given by Ellen Fisher. She gave no size limitations or restrictions, only freedom to create and share whatever inspired us. After much thought, I realized I’d never done a monogram piece! Fresh off of celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary, fueled by the desire to use and learn more of my new Statler Stitcher’s capabilities, I created this wall quilt entitled “Oh… K!”

Here’s a very quick video of some of the process.  I LOVE my Statler Stitcher by Gammill!  

I’m always inspired by Judi Madsen over at “Green Fairy Quilts.”  She’s an AMAZING longarm quilter who always has a fresh approach in her composition. One thing that caught my eye, among the many, was her use of two layers of batting.  One layer of a 80/20 blend and one of wool.  This gives her quilting incredible definition and I love it. So, I tried it with this piece hoping it would give a nice trapunto affect, without the extra work that trapunto can be.  The repetition of cursive letter k in the border had a serendipitous result in texture. I kinda like how my piece turned out,  maybe you do to?

Have you ever participated in a challenge group, considered starting one, or tried a monogram wholecloth quilt?  If so I’d love to hear about your creative process and welcome dialogue on my blog. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

