Delicious Flaxseed Munchies

For Foodie Friday I give you, flaxseeds. I love them. If you’ll give’m a try, they’ll love you back!  Why?  Because, flaxseed’s not only a wonderful source of Omega 3, excellent for heart health, they’re fantastic for your brain, good for eye health, they fight inflammation, they’re an excellent source of fiber, and a powerful antioxidant too!  Yep, they’re pretty much a power food. 🙂

DSC_0278

My dear friend Rie over at Marie’s Creative Space, shared her recipe with me sometime back.  She and her hubby Eric shared a way to get more flaxseeds into their diets.  It’s an interesting munchie they make once a week and keep handy for snacking.  She knows me and that I’ve used a bit of creative license with my version. 😉

Maybe like me, you cook by feel. A pinch of this, a dash of that.  Well, that’s not an easy thing to translate into written recipes.  Unless, you happen to have this cool tool!  Ladies and gents, I give you the “mini measuring spoon set” where a smidge, a dash, and a pinch is a literal, measurement!  (Oh heck yeah, now I think I got this!)DSC_0286


 

Flaxseed MunchiesDSC_0264

  • 1 C. of Flaxseeds
  • 1 16 oz. Zico coconut water
  • 2 tbs Real maple syrup
  • 1/4 C. walnuts
  • 3 tbs pumpkin seeds (optional)
  • 3 tbs slivered almonds
  • 1/4 C. Bob’s Redmill flaked coconut (optional)
  • 3 tbs Craisins or dehydrated blueberries
  • pinch of all spice
  • dash of cinnamon
  • sea salt to taste

In a large bowl, soak flaxseeds in coconut water until most of the liquid is absorbed. DSC_0268 Preheat oven to 325.  Stir in remaining ingredients. Coat large jelly roll pan with cooking spray.  Pour mixed ingredient into pan, spread evenly with a spatula. DSC_0288Allow to bake for 40 minutes until some of the moisture has evaporated and the mixture begins to brown. As the moisture evaporates it bakes into a nice crust.  Remove from oven, with spatula flip entire contents over and allow moist underside to bake equally for about 15 more minutes. DSC_0294This takes approximately 50-60 minutes total. Your home will smell amazing.  When both sides are a lightly toasted brown, remove from the oven and cool.  Break pieces apart and store them in a container in the fridge.DSC_0296

Disclaimer:  If you enjoy eating healthy, this stuff’s addictive. A few more pounds later, don’t come crying to me!  You were warned! 😉

2 Comments on “Delicious Flaxseed Munchies

  1. Great post! I love flax seeds and always put them in oatmeal, yogurt, smoothies and cereals. Pretty much anything that I can imagine. Definitely want to give this snack recipe a try!

    Like

    • Oh I hope you will. Just like I did you can edit ingredients according to what you have available. I like adding pumpkin seeds or dried blueberries just to change it up a bit. Thanks for your response!! Good luck and enjoy! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

