Modern Cartwheel Block Posey’fied

I was tickled when I stumbled across Lee Heinrich’s Freshly Pieced Cartwheels Quilt pattern on-line.

IMG_3973

I’d been looking for fast a modern baby quilt to make for a friend’s  first grandbaby. Layla will be arriving in August and I’m pleased to say I have this one done way ahead of schedule!  I switched it up a bit by changing the setting, made 9 blocks for the front, added frilly centers to the cartwheels making them look like poseys and used the remaining 3 blocks for the back of the quilt. The quilt screamed flowers to me so, the free motion quilting wasn’t that difficult to decide on so, I knocked the remainder of the quilt at my recent retreat.

 

Once the circles were cut for the flowers centers there was time for a little “quilter’s fuel”… 😉

IMG_3952

I attached the circles with a decorative stitch from my machine.  A great idea from fellow quilter Carol MaJka attending the retreat.

IMG_4011

And now, the binding. This Kaffe Fassett print in the binding tied all the fabrics together.

IMG_3984

The back of the quilt where I used a few extra blocks.

IMG_4024

 Then, finally a sweet little corner label securely sewn into the binding on the back of the quilt.

IMG_4012 - Version 2Here’s the finished project, I hope the new mommy likes it!

IMG_4018

8 Comments on “Modern Cartwheel Block Posey’fied

  1. Love Love Love the Posey’fied cartwheels. The finished quilt is beautiful.
    Will you bring it to the Modern this month?

    Like

  2. This is Michael’s Mother Mary and the quilt is great. To me has that old timey colors that my grandmother use to crochet with, purple and yellow. Can’t go wrong with those colors! Layla will be my FIRST great-grandchild. The quilt is so artful, if that’s a word.

    Like

    • Thank you Mary! Artful, artsy, it’s all the same. I certainly hope she likes it. Just tickled to be part of your excitement! Imagine, your FIRST great grandchild… Wishing you all the best. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

