Chick’s N Bees

If you’re just tuning in, I’ve shared that I’m a creative chick, in need of a few new peeps to “bee” with in our new location.  I’m tickled to report that I believe I’ve found them!  I don’t know about you but, my creativity soars when I spend time in the company of other birds of a feather. ;D  That being said, I feel incredibly blessed to have just spent four days meeting and retreating with these new inspirational friends, the “Honey Bees” quilting group from Arlington, Texas.

What a wonderful time we had at the retreat center Our House in Milford.  Here’s my shameless plug:  If you live in the North Central Texas area and are looking for a retreat center for scrapbooking, quilting, knitting or whatever I recommend checking them out!

“Our House” complete with rocking chairs, humming birds, and barn swallows all welcome you to sit a spell and enjoy a Texas sunset.

Thank you Rhonda Weddle, my Fort Worth Modern Quilt Guild friend, for inviting me to join you and the girls where I instantly felt at home.  Here’s one happy chick, in the main work room surrounded by other creatives.

IMG_3951Owners Angie and her mother Annie were incredibly sweet.  They’re both very accommodating, friendly, warm, and inviting. The staff of Our House cooks all your meals, does the dishes, and you get to stay and play.

The following are just a few beautiful pieces in progress that spoke to me, made by the sweet ladies of the Honey Bees.

IMG_3969

 

 

I love how Carolyn Bowden’s use of brilliantly colorful batiks and rick rack trim on her wavy Log Cabin blocks, cause your eye to dance across her piece. She drew inspiration from Karen Eckmeier’s innovative piecing techniques in her book Layered Waves.

 

One of Donna’s projects, reminds me of   SantaFe, NM.

How pretty is this?  Love the background batik!

 

Here are some of Donna Akin’s inspiring, improvisational piecing strips. She found this freeform piecing method from Reyna Gilman’s Create Your Own Freeform Quilts. Is it just me or, do these remind you of Santa Fe, New Mexico as well?

 

 

Then there’s Carol Majka’s Courthouse Steps, how pretty is this? Love the brights and that fun, colorful background batik, if you look close there’s every possible color of the rainbow in this background fabric.

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_3984This is a baby quilt I was working on, but that’s a post for another day… 🙂

 

 

 

4 Comments on “Chick’s N Bees

  1. Lois, you have me really excited about out upcoming retreat next month, I am already working on one of my projects! I plan to bring at least two if not three…does that show how excited I am getting ?
    Loving your blog! and you, Mom

    Like

    • SWEET! That’s awesome Mom. I always pack too many projects. That way I have options and can bounce from one to another. You’re gonna love it!! 😀 I love you too. Glad you’re enjoying it. (psst… I am too 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

