Studio Series: Toy Sewing Machine Collection

One man’s trash is another man’s treasure?  You bet your sweet bippy it is!  While living in New England I stumbled upon a goldmine, one I’ve longed for my entire life.  My friend Ren was prepping for a garage sale.  She mentioned some toy sewing machines that she’d enjoyed collecting over the years but felt it was time to part with them and they were going into her sale. She didn’t see how they’d fit in her new updated space. My initial thought? Are you KIDDING ME?!

Black Toy Machine

 

Oh my!  I have always had a special place in my heart for these little gems. Maybe because I learned to sew as a child at my mother’s knee, my grandmother’s side, and at my aunt’s featherweight. Many’s the hour I spent happily stitching away. Not that I created anything spectacular but I was fascinated with fabric, needle, and thread. By age 9, I was piecing quilts and in classes learning to sew garments.  My parents scratched together every penny they could to buy my first sewing machine by age 10.  It was a black Singer from the 50’s, had a great straight stitched, and get this, it even had a zig zag stitch!  No kidding, it was a real machine.

I will always be grateful for their sacrifice, an investment in my future and current passion.  Something in me has always fondly remembered the simplicity of my childhood and a little toy sewing machine… sew, how fitting that I should stumble upon this “treasure” during our adventure in New England.

Here’s my treasure at home in my new studio in Texas.  I love juxtaposition of antiques and clean Ikea contemporary shelves, just an eclectic decorating trend I’m exploring these days.  I’m finding collections are a great way to decorate, but that’s a topic for another post, another day.DSC_0141

So, I was wondering, do any of you have memories like this from your childhood that seeing an item causes a flood of warm memories?  If so, what’s the treasure and what’s your story?

2 Comments on “Studio Series: Toy Sewing Machine Collection

Leave a Reply

